The Surface Design Awards recognise and celebrate the best use of innovative surface materials in architecture and design internationally. They take place at the annual Surface Design Show (5-7 February), the UK’s only trade event dedicated to interior and exterior surface materials. Visitors from the architecture & design community discover thousands of surface solutions that range from traditional hand-made products to entirely new, smart materials and the best in sustainable surfaces.

The shortlist for this year’s Surface Design Awards, includes Zaha Hadid Architects, Steven Holl Architects, Studio Egret West and Chris Dyson Architects from the UK, Rockwell Group from the USA, and Kengo Kuma & Associates from Japan.

The shortlist consists of an impressive 43 projects across seven categories, each entry an exemplary example of creative and innovative use of materials and lighting in both interior and exterior schemes. Some projects won nominations across several categories, resulting in 48 finalists.

Entries came from some of the most established architects and designers, as well as rising stars, and the growing international reach of the entrants was evident with projects from Canada, China, Korea and Australia, as well as four entries from the USA. Alongside entries from across Europe and the UK, the many and varied projects provided a thought-provoking and exciting morning of judging.

The full list of categories and finalists:

Retail Interior: Snohetta, NM Consulate, Nathan Allan Glass Studios, JaK Studio, Rockwell Group, NIMStudios.

Retail Exterior: Gensler, BuckleyGreyYeoman, STAC Architecture, KSR Architects.

Public Building Interior: Studio Knack & Simon Vorhammer, Ian Ritchie Architects, Studio Octopi with Mark Wallinger.

Public Building Exterior: Meck Architekten, Steven Holl Architects.

Commercial Interior: ZGF Architects & Pure+Freedom, Zaha Hadid Architects/Isometrix Lighting Design, IVANKA factory, BuckleyGreyYeoman, Giles Miller Studio & Orms, Quail.

Commercial Exterior: Studio Egret West, Blee Halligan Architects, Zaha Hadid Architects/ Isometrix Lighting Design.

Temporary Structure: Snarkitecture, MAP Studio, Peter Pichler Architects, Studio Morison, Rockwell Group.

Sustainable Interior: Anya Fennet, Hors-Studio, Hewitt Studios.

Sustainable Exterior: Kengo Kuma & Associates and Blee Halligan Architects.

Light & Surface Interior: Lightivity Lighting Design, Zaha Hadid Architects/ Isometrix Lighting Design, Ian Ritchie Architects.

Light & Surface Exterior: Michael Grubb Studio & Design Engine, Michael Grubb Studio, ÅF Lighting.

Housing Interior: Francisco Sutherland Architects, Walker Bushe Architects, Lily Jencks Studio.

Housing Exterior: Urban Mesh Design, Mole Architects, Chris Dyson Architects, Bates Masi + Architects, Studio Egret West.

For further information and images please contact Jane Thomson at Informare.

[email protected]